JENNYMSU…Let’s Get to Know YOU this week!

Leaderboard Get To Know You 

First and foremost explain the genesis of your leaderboard name: 

JennyMSU

I’m afraid it isn’t that exciting or inspired. While I go by “Jen” to anyone I met after high school, my family and childhood friends all still call me Jenny. The MSU part is pretty easy — I hold both bachelors and masters degrees from Michigan State University and will be a diehard Spartan till the end. Even though they bombed hard during this year’s March Madness. I’m not bitter about it at all. AT ALL. Nope. #lies

Name: Jen Farhat

Where do You live? Hartland, Michigan

Married/Single? I was married for 10 years, but am divorced. The good news is that I’ve been with my “new” boyfriend for about four years (and have known him since I was 19, when we were both at MSU). I’m sincerely hoping he puts a ring on it soon so that I can stop calling him my boyfriend because I’m too old for a damn boyfriend.

 

Kids/Grandkids? No kids. Mostly by choice (see divorce above) and life circumstances. Would love a child, but at 42, I make a helluva dog mom (see below).

Pets? I’m a dog person through and through. Rosie, the love of my life, is a 6-ish year-old Boston Terrier who I got from a rescue five years ago. We’ve been through a lot together, including her having cancer (and chemo) in 2014. She’s spoiled and flatulent and gives me approximately 16 inches of space in our king-sized bed, but I love her the most. Don’t tell my boyfriend.

 
Working/Retired? I’m a senior communications advisor for a global insurance carrier — which is a fancy way of saying I’m a writer and project manager who tries to make workers’ compensation insurance seem sexy. I’ve been with my company for 15 years and ask myself at least weekly where my youth went. I’m also a freelance makeup artist, doing mostly weddings. Because free time is for suckers. Just kidding. I just love makeup and am damn good at it (#humblebrag).
 
If you went to college…what college did you go to? Michigan State (their basketball team will disappoint you)
 
Motto in which you live by? Lead with your heart. Also with sarcasm.

How long have you had your bike: Since December 2017

Where in your home do you ride: My basement, in the unfinished part where our home gym is. I stare at a water softener. It’s pretty amazing.

What is your favorite Color: Purple.

What is your favorite food: I’m part Lebanese and so raw kibbee (Google it) is among my fave foods. Also sushi. See a theme?

What is your favorite TV Show: Drama = The Newsroom with Jeff Daniels (it’s so good). Comedy = Friends (this show will never NOT hold up for me; it’s still so funny and watchable, which I do daily). Also Nurse Jackie. I like TV.

Have you ever ridden in studio: yes! Had the pleasure of riding #100 with JSS in April and also rode with Ally and Alex that same week.

 
Who would you like to ride with: All of you. Every last one of you. Wait, do you mean instructor-wise? You probably mean instructor-wise. Jenn, of course, and also Christine and Dennis (among those I haven’t already ridden with).
 
Guilty Pleasure: Vanderpump Rules on Bravo. It’s literally THE WORST SHOW on television. It’s terrible. I’m dumber for watching it. I love it. 
 
Favorite Curse word: “Fuck these fucking fuckers,” is a real favorite phrase of mine. It’s said typically in traffic. Or during March Madness. I’m a real lady, guys.
 
Favorite musician: Fun fact, I thought this said “favorite magician” and I was like, “Well that’s a weird question, but I like it — David Copperfield? I guess?!” My favorite MUSICIAN is Eddie Vedder/Pearl Jam, followed by Ed Sheeran. I have a thing for musicians named Ed, evidently. Also Justin Timberlake, who is not named Ed but gets a pass because, come on.
 
Morning or night: I’m a solidly midday kind of person.
 
Last Book You Read: Book 6 of the Harry Potter series, which I can’t remember the name of. I listen to them on Audible while I commute (an hour each way). I’ve been commuting for nearly a year. I’m still not done with the series. These books are LONG. 
 
Who’s the Last Person who texted you: My dad, asking “how in the hell do I use this damn thing?!” referring to my old iPhone I recently gave him. He had a flip phone until a week ago. He doesn’t understand touch screens and basically butt dials our family constantly now, gets mad and then fails to hang up so we can hear him cursing like a madman. It’s the best. 
 
Favorite App: Instagram is the one I go to most. My favorite is probably the Sephora app, but it takes all my money so I’m not giving it the satisfaction of the top spot. 
 
Favorite Sport: College basketball when my team doesn’t miss 14 CONSECUTIVE SHOTS TO LOSE TO AN 11-SEED AND MISS THE SWEET 16. But I’m fine with it. FINE WITH IT.
 
Favorite Sports Team: MSU Football (suck it, basketball)
 
Fave Alcoholic Beverage: Champagne, vodka tonics and sour beers (current fave is Short’s Brewery Anniv Ale — it’s a Michigan beer. We do good beer.)
 
What Color is your toothbrush: It’s white. It’s a Sonicare kind that beeps at me if I don’t brush long enough. It’s very judgey. 
 
Do you have a favorite cartoon character: I may or may not have a Winnie the Pooh tattoo on my back that I got when I was 19. If this were true, Pooh would be my fave. Ah, youth. And stupidity. 
 
Coffee or tea: I drink both, but coffee is my preference. We have a fancy new cappuccino machine that I can’t work but if I knew how, I’d tell you that cappuccinos are my favorite. 
 
What time do you go to bed: We are creatures of habit. That habit includes biding our time until around 8:55, at which point one of us says, “want to go upstairs?,” and the other one nods enthusiastically. Then we both read our phones, defying all sleep experts, for like another hour, then crash around 10. It’s amazing and very sexy.
 
Fave Reality TV show: Does HGTV count? I love Fixer Upper. Joanna Gaines is my spirit animal. If HGTV doesn’t count, it’s Real Housewives of Beverly Hills because I’m a terrible human.
 
What is something we’d be surprised to know about you? My grandpa was a professional wrestler from the 1950s-1990s. His name was The Sheik and he wrestled all over the world. My dad wrestled too but much less famously. Our family friends included people like Andre the Giant. Home movies for me were things like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=54ZrSoBemVU (yeah, that baby is me).
 
Dinner guest: All of the JSS Tribe. Seriously. You guys are rad and I love all of you. I need a bigger table, but we’ll make it work.
 
Anything else you’d like to share? Just that my motivation for getting the bike was and is to lose about 50 pounds (down 20 so far). I never knew I’d actually GAIN so much more through this amazing community. That was super sappy. I can’t help it.

Comments